Introducing our award-winning students for 2020!


We are very pleased to celebrate four outstanding IR students who have each won an award that is testament to their academic strengths and community-oriented dedication.


Anjali Mishra is this year’s recipient of the Gerald N. Savory Scholarship in International Relations. Anjali is a dedicated advocate for climate justice, co-authoring the Good Practice in 2030 Agenda Implementation Series, now used by Employment and Social Development Canada’s Social Development Goals Unit (SDG). Anjali has since worked as a delegate to the 2019 High-Level Political Forum on Sustainable Development at the UN. At the Forum she worked directly with the Permanent Mission of Canada and the SDG to promote intergenerational equity as a foundational principle in SDG implementation, later delivering a speech on the floor of the UN.

On campus, Anjali founded the UBC SDG Alliance, coordinated the first ever SDG Week, has begun work on a Canadian university coalition on sustainable development, and led a course on the SDGs within the global development agenda. Her leadership is far-reaching and truly an inspiration. We are very proud to have you in our program, Anjali! Congratulations!

The $700 scholarship is in memory of Gerald N. Savory who was Director of Public Affairs Programs in the UBC Centre for Continuing Education from 1964 to 1982 and held local and national offices in the United Nations Association of Canada. His dedication to international development and peace was also exemplary.



The winner of the 2020 Jessie Evelyn Drew Clark Memorial Scholarship is Erin Lee. Erin is passionate about raising awareness and funds for global child poverty, fueling her work with World Vision UBC. In her first year at UBC, Erin hosted a talent show for the AMS Club, helping to raise over $1,000 on the night. Erin has also worked as treasurer for the charity, increasing contributions through the introduction of tap payment technology. Erin has also worked as the Professional Development Co-Chair for the Arts Undergraduate Society, creating opportunities for International Relations students to begin their postgraduate careers through organizing workshops and coordinating employer networking.

Erin is an outstanding student and leader within UBC, and the wider community. We are so happy to be able to honour you with this award, Erin!

This $600 scholarship, endowed by Jessie E. Clark, is awarded to a female student in the field of International Relations.



The Sir Winston Churchill Society of British Columbia announced in August the winners of the 2020 Churchill Essay Contest Scholarship and two UBC IR students won the top prizes. Congratulations to you both!

As winner of the First Prize for her paper, The Divergent International Response to China’s Xinjiang’s Policy, Dorothy Settles will also receive The Churchill Communication Challenge Trophy along with a scholarship of $2,000.

As winner of the Second Prize for her paper, British Foreign Policy And the Outbreak of the First World War: A Constructivist Approach, Emma Livingstone will receive a scholarship of $1500.